500 DAYS OF SUMMER

I fall like it’s late summer
It’s been 500 days of Summer, yes I know, a sheer bummer
But she was so hot like a midsummer
I stayed on her heels like I was shear butter
As I write down my thoughts, it sounds dumber
But she made my heart skip beats amid flutter
Curse me she did with speech impairments
I stuttered on every word I dare utter

Was it the trinkets you wore?
The charm you bore?
That made me the simpering simp I now abhore?
The only consistent thing about you was your inconsistence
You were always touch and go
One word answers to my paragraph long professions of love
Then when I’d stop
There you are, luring me back in
All it took was a “Hey”, a “I missed you”
You were a whore for attention
A whale with appetite so gargantuan it swallowed me whole
It wasn’t all your fault though
I always thought you were too good for me
Maybe that’s why I became some loyal puppy dog wagging it’s tale at your feet
Chained by your breadcrumbs of acknowledgement

Countless are my messages you left unread right next to the Mars rover
I was never more than just the leftover
Shunned for the lads with the Land Rover
Got to a point I thought you were religious
Jewish, the way you’d hit me with a passover
A Christian on New Year’s eve, you crossover
Through it all I could’ve remained sober
Dulled the pain with many a hangover
Tears I shed could fill all the ports of Hannover
But then before I knew it came October

I wasn’t the one so I tapped out
Longing for this version of you
Isn’t the version of me I want to be

Arrivederci
Dave The Griot

2 responses to “500 DAYS OF SUMMER”

  1. Willie Torres Jr. Avatar
    Willie Torres Jr.

    Thank you for sharing such a wonderful and deeply personal poem. It resonates with the universal themes of love’s vulnerability and the quest for self-understanding amidst emotional turbulence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot!! The feedback means a lot

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started